Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework

Scottish Credit Qualification Framework

The SCQF is for lifelong learning in Scotland through which people of all ages and circumstances can benchmark their skills for qualifications and plan future learning to fulfil destiny.

SCQF is very useful for organisations including employers and learning providers because it contributes to the increase in organisational performance by improving the skills of the workforce.

Our Services includes using the SCQF to assist learners to identify personal skill set, describe courses that will improve their skills, plan programmes that will lead to qualifications and possible progression routes, and provide paid work opportunities.

SCQF Level  Descriptors
The SCQF has 12 levels. The different levels show the level of difficulty of a particular qualification, with level 12 being the most demanding. SCQF levels are based on a single set of ‘level descriptors’. These are the common reference points which provide a way of recognising learning that is outcome-based and quality-assured, no matter whether that learning is academic, vocational, non-formal or informal. The level descriptors outline the general outcomes of learning at SCQF levels under five broad headings known as characteristics.
• Knowledge and understanding (mainly subject-based)
• Practice (applied knowledge, skills and understanding)
• Generic cognitive skills (for example, evaluation, critical analysis)
• Communication, numeracy and IT skills
• Autonomy, accountability and working with others.

SCQF Credit Points
Credit points are a way of showing how much time it takes, on average, to complete a qualification or learning programme. Along with the level descriptors, they allow learners, learning providers and employers to compare different qualifications at the same or even different levels. Like other credit systems in the UK and abroad, the SCQF works on the basis that one credit point represents the amount of learning achieved through a notional 10 hours of learning time. This includes everything a learner has to do to achieve the outcomes in qualification, including the assessment procedures.

Recognising Skills

When we are recruiting staff, how we specify the level of skill or competence that we need applicants to have is important. Depending on how you communicate this, you can decrease or increase the pool of potential talent from which to select. Knowing fully well that qualifications in Scotland have changed a great deal over the past few years. Meaning job applicants can now take a variety of routes to their ideal career. So, it is important for employers to understand the broad range of qualifications available.

The aim of the SCQF Inclusive Recruiter Pledge is to help employers understand that many different qualifications have the same worth and to encourage the use of SCQF Levels in the recruitment process to offer clarity around skills and experience. Therefore, by using the SCQF levels in our recruitment processes, including job description and advert, helps both the employer and potential employees better understand the skills needed.

Benefits to Employers:

  • Access to a diverse talent pool
  • Confidence that you can satisfy your skills need
  • Bring new skills and knowledge into your business
  • A better understanding of the broad range of Scottish qualifications and how they compare

Benefits to Individuals:

  • A clearer understanding of the skills required for the job
  • Confidence that you have the skills to make a successful application (saving time when searching vacancies)
  • Confidence that you can meet employer expectations
  • Assurance that the employer has up-to-date knowledge of qualifications
  • Recognition by the employer of a range of relevant qualifications, both academic and vocational